Indian Mound from Church

Habersham EMC awards five local scholarships

Posted: April 5, 2021

Anna Paige Barrett

Camryn Fricks

Hadden Carswell

Haydn Tatum

Parker Behrends

Each year, Habersham EMC participates in the Washington Youth Tour. However, due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, students were not able to attend the trip to Washington D.C. for 2021. In lieu of this annual event, HEMC chose to reallocate those funds to provide scholarships for local students to continue their education. These local scholarships were awarded in conjunction with the Walter Harrison Scholarship.

The Walter Harrison Scholarship is sponsored by Georgia’s electric membership corporations (EMCs), including HEMC. Grade point average, SAT/ACT scores, academic standing, scholastic honors, and financial need are considered when determining a student’s eligibility. A scholarship committee comprised of (directors/managers/key staff/or others as appropriate) at HEMC seeks to award scholarships to remarkable students.

“We understand that the rising costs of college can cause a great deal of financial stress within a family,” said Bryan Ferguson, President and CEO of Habersham EMC. “Every great leader has encountered trials and triumphs that have molded them into the person they are today. HEMC’s goal is to empower local youth as they pursue their secondary education and further develop their leadership abilities.”

This year, five students were awarded scholarships from HEMC ranging from $1,000 to $2,000. They were: Parker Behrends, Haydn Tatum, Hadden Carswell, and Camryn Fricks, all Habersham Central High School students, and Anna Paige Barrett, a student at Tallulah Falls School.

The applications of Parker Behrends and Haydn Tatum were also submitted to be considered at the state level for the Walter Harrison Scholarship.

For more information visit or call (706) 754-2114, (706 )865-4362 or (800) 640-6812.

Habersham EMC, an electric cooperative based in Clarkesville, Georgia, serves more than 26,000 members with 3,800 miles of line in six counties of Northeast Georgia.