Blue Ridge Mountains

Habersham EMC Announces Changes to 2020 Annual Meeting

Posted: June 28, 2020

In light of COVID 19, HEMC’s Annual Meeting will be conducted differently this year. In the interest of protecting the health and safety of our members, the Habersham EMC Board of Directors has implemented several changes out of an abundance of caution.

The changes include a different location, extended voting opportunities and a Business Session only meeting on Thursday, July 16 at 4 p.m.

Due to social distancing and consideration for members’ health, we are unable to provide food or entertainment at this year’s meeting. Therefore, the Business Session will be held at Habersham EMC’s headquarters, located at 6135 Highway 115 West, Clarkesville, Georgia. The Business Session will be livestreamed on the Now Habersham website, Now Habersham Facebook page and the Habersham EMC Facebook page.

Absentee ballots are available July 2 – July 13. Members may call to request a ballot be mailed to them or vote absentee in the Clarkesville or Cleveland office, July 2 – July 13. Absentee ballots must be returned by 5 p.m., Monday, July 13 in order for the vote to count and the member to be eligible for door prize drawings.

Beginning Monday, July 13, members may register and vote in the Clarkesville office as part of the extended voting period. This is in place of the registration and voting traditionally held only during the Annual Meeting. Members may vote between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. through Wednesday, July 15; and between 8 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, July 16.

All members who register and vote will be entered into the door prize drawings. Door prizes will be drawn on Friday, July 17 and broadcast as a Facebook Live event on Habersham EMC’s Facebook page. Door prizes will be delivered to the winners.

HEMC members may vote for two (2) Central District positions. The two board nominees are Billy Cantrell (incumbent) of Cleveland and Rick E. Wood (incumbent) of Clarkesville.

Members may vote for one (1) North District position. The board nominee is Dallas Taylor of Clayton. Incumbent Director Frank McCrackin will retire at the end of his current term.

In the East District, Vonda Greene was appointed to fill an unexpired term earlier this year and that position must now be voted on by the members. The two board nominees are Vonda Greene (incumbent) of Clarkesville and Anthony Lawrence of Clarkesville.

With the exception of the East District, directors will be elected for three-year terms. Election results will be announced during this Business Session.

Member comments submitted prior to 1 p.m. on Thursday, July 16 will be summarized and read during the New Business portion of the Business Session. Comments may be submitted by completing a form at the HEMC offices during voting, sending an email to or by mailing to: Member Comments, c/o Habersham EMC, 6135 Hwy. 115 West, Clarkesville, GA 30523.

For more information visit or call (706) 754-2114, (706) 865-4362 or (800) 640-6812.

Habersham EMC, an electric cooperative based in Clarkesville, Georgia, serves more than 26,000 members with 3,800 miles of line in six counties of Northeast Georgia. Founded in 1938, HEMC strives to be the premiere utility service provider, enhancing the lives within our reach.