Skip to main navigation.

Walter Harrison Scholarship

Walter Harrison Scholarship logo

The Walter Harrison Scholarship was created in 1985 by the board of directors of Georgia EMC, an association representing the 42 electric cooperatives, Oglethorpe Power Corporation, Georgia Transmission Corporation and Georgia System Operations Corporation.

The scholarship is named in honor of Walter Harrison, a pioneer in the rural electricity movement and a leader at the local, state and national electric cooperative programs.


  • The $1,000 scholarship is open to all EMC members and employees throughout the state of Georgia.
  • The scholarship can be used at any accredited two or four year university, college or vo-tech institute in Georgia.
  • Recipients must be enrolled in an accredited program, either full or part time and must be an undergraduate student only.
  • A combination of need and academic ability will be used in determining scholarship winners.

Click here to download a PDF application.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo