Skip to main navigation.

2017 Annual Meeting Highlights

HEMC Member Robin Lovell was the grand prize winner of a $500 credit on an electric bill.Fiber optic service expansion, a leadership search and community engagement topped the highlights of Habersham EMC's Annual Meeting on July 20, at Habersham Ninth Grade Academy in Mt. Airy. More than 800 members and 2,000 people overall attended enjoying barbecue, health fair activities, door prize drawings and many activities for children.


In the business portion of the meeting, Rick Wood, board chairman, followed the Pledge of Allegiance and National Anthem with updates on cooperative activities over the past year:


  • Two new substations were completed and energized in White County.
  • A new system-wide metering system upgrade is underway.
  • The expansion of Trailwave fiber optic service (high speed internet) in White County.
  • A crew specializing in dead and dangerous trees has taken down more than 700 trees this year



Wood also shared plans for the coming year:


  • Completion of the new meter upgrade.
  • Further expansion of the fiber project in White County.
  • Improving 4.5 miles of primary line conductor to carry increased load.
  • Adding new line breakers in the Unicoi area.
  • Continuing an active right of way program to improve service reliability.
  • The CEO search is underway with a goal to complete the process in December.


During the new business portion of the meeting, an HEMC member asked to make comments and ask questions. After several minutes of commentary, the moderator, HEMC attorney Janney Sanders, determined items being discussed did not fit the purpose of the annual meeting. Formal business meeting guidelines (Robert's Rules of Order, RRO) are clear that a business meeting is not an open forum for comments or debate without motions that are specifically related to the business of the organization. The member made a motion and while seeking to make further comment about voting on this motion, another member made a motion to adjourn. Under those same meeting guidelines, a motion to adjourn takes precedence over all other motions. This motion received a second, and a clear majority of members voted to adjourn closing further discussion.


Following the business meeting, drawings for door prizes were held. Robin Lovell of Clarkesville won the grand prize credit of $500 on an electric bill.


Directors Billy Cantrell, Frank McCrackin and Rick Wood were re-elected to serve three year terms. Board of Director Officers for the upcoming year will be Rick Wood, Chairman; George Fry, Vice-Chairman; and Jeff Ferguson, Secretary-Treasurer.


For pictures from the event, click here.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo